BLDG

Artist :: Andrew Schoultz

Posted in Walls by BLDG on July 29, 2009

I think it’s important that from time to time we highlight some artists that we’re really diggin’… we can’t forget to mention flat out great work!

ANDREW SCHOULTZ

I’ll start this out by saying the same thing I used to say when I wrote for an indie music magazine… I’m not a writer or professional critic… I’m just callin’ it like I see it.

I ran across Andrew Schoultz’s work the other day by way of a well-known gallery, Jonathan Levine Andrew did a show there a couple years back.

Andrew’s subject matter encompasses forts, castles, rafts, elephants, knights, war-horses and the like. There’s something about the way he uses lines, dotted lines, wavy lines, colored lines to send signal-like messages from subject to subject in his paintings. You can read an entire emotion simply by the composition of a one of the first things you learn to draw as a child, a line.

To me Andrew’s paintings are paintings of emotions and the visual subjects are merely backdrops… he could paint alligators, racecars, paddle boats and ballet slippers and his line work would tell the same story.

1

2

4

15

23

Leave a Reply

